Pollner Professorship

Anthony PollnerThe Pollner Professorship was established to honor the memory of Anthony Pollner, a 1999 graduate of the School of Journalism. After Anthony died in an accident in May 2001, his friends and family created an endowment that makes this professorship possible. In 2014, friends and family expanded the endowment to allow a distinguished professorship in both fall and spring semesters. 

The Pollner family’s commitment is to invite working journalists with diverse and distinguished backgrounds to share their experiences with the school’s best students in a seminar devoted to a topic of the Pollner professor’s choosing. Professors chosen for fall will focus on writing and reporting. The spring semester will be devoted to visual or online journalism or the business of journalism. And because Anthony was most devoted to his work at the Kaimin, the Pollner professor's most important responsibility is to work daily with the Kaimin staff to help them hone their skills.

The Pollner professor also delivers a public lecture or a professional workshop on a journalism issue in a presentation that attracts an audience from the campus, the community and the region. 

The School of Journalism

at the University of Montana

is taking applications through January 30

 for the fall 2015 and spring 2016

T. Anthony Pollner Distinguished Professorships 

The fall 2015 professorship has reporting and writing as its primary focus. The focus of the spring 2016 professorship is visual storytelling, online journalism or the business of journalism.

Applicants for either professorship should have a national reputation in journalism and an interest in mentoring aspiring journalists. The successful candidates will teach a course relating to his or her specialization and work with the staff of the student newspaper, the Montana Kaimin. 

Recent Pollner professors have included former New York Times reporter William Glaberson; Hank Stuever, television critic at the Washington Post; design expert Ron Reason; Chris Jones, a two-time National Magazine Award recipient at Esquire, and Pulitzer Prize-winning reporters Eli Saslow, Tamara Jones, John Woestendiek and Maurice Possley.

The stipend is $40,000 


Send a letter of interest that includes a proposal for a course topic, a resume, names and contact information of three references and links to professional work to:


Please indicate in the email subject line whether you are applying for the fall 2015 or spring 2016 professorship.

For more information and a list of all previous Pollner professors, please click here.