Dean Stone Celebration

Each spring the School of Journalism celebrates its founder, Dean Arthur Stone, and its current students with an annual scholarship and awards banquet.

Thanks to generous endowments and donor contributions, the school awarded nearly $170,000 in scholarships at this year's banquet, with most of the money going to students entering their senior year.

In addition to a banquet, we feature a special public lecture the night before. This past spring we were thrilled to welcome New York Times staff writer and National Magazine Award-winner Nikole Hannah-Jones for her lecture, "The Problem We All Live With: The Legacy of School Segregation." Previous Dean Stone speakers have included Dean Baquet, executive editor of the New York Times; former NBC News anchor Tom Brokaw; Judy Woodruff of PBS Newshour; Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Eli Sanders; and Chris Jones, editor-in-chief of National Geographic magazine.

Nikole Hannah-Jones talks to journalism students on campus.
Nikole Hannah-Jones talks to journalism students on campus.


Check out photos from the 2017 Dean Stone Awards Banquet.